Andalusian World Cup covers virtually every class exercised within the breed, that we can logically get away with anyway.
Here is a breakdown of what we have to offer at the show:

AWC Dressage




Dressage is a French term meaning “training” and its purpose is to develop the horse’s natural athletic ability and willingness to work making him calm, supple and attentive to his rider.
If you are a history buff, you might be interested in reading more about the beginnings of dressage that date back to Xenophon in Greece and include a long line of riding masters, both from the military and the famous riding schools which developed during the Baroque era.

Currently, competitive dressage involves nine progressive levels

incorporating multiple tests within each level. Special tests are also written for musical freestyle, sport horse breeding and performances

incorporating multiple horses and riders. Tests are revised every four years by the United States Dressage Federation, theUnited States Equestrian Federation (USEF) and the International Equestrian Federation (FEI).
Competition occurs in a regulation size arena with specific apparel and equipment all regulated by USEF. Judges are licensed by the USEF and the FEI and are assisted by scribes who write down the judge’s scores and comments during the test. Success in dressage is dependent on the rider’s position and ability but because of the goal of the training, many horse breeds can be quite successful.

Watching dressage can be very exciting, especially the musical freestyle rides or tests at the FEI (highest) levels.
If you would like to continue learning about dressage, visit the bookstore or join USDF to obtain special member rates to the annual convention and other educational opportunities throughout the year.



The beauty and elegance of the PRE has been verified. Throughout the year, a number of national and international events are held where Purebred Spanish Horses are scored according to their sex, age, conformation and also their functionality. In this regard, these horses are outstanding, thanks to their genetics. In addition to this, other carefully cared for elements include the esthetics of the horse when competition.

Horses are shown first in morphology, where they are scored and assigned points for conformation and movement.

They then compete in functionality (for horses of ridden age), which is similar to a dressage test and ridden in a dressage court. The two scores are combined to determine the winning horses.

Horses competing in these classes must be “Inscribed” or “Revised” by ANCCE to participate.

AWC Classes


Andalusian World Classes

Open to all Iberian breeds, including part-breds. Classes are held for halter, movement, and a range of performance classes, with everything from Driving to Dressage Hack, Costume and Western Pleasure classes.

These classes demonstrate the versatility of our breed. In addition, there are classes designated for youth riders, which foster and encourage interest in the future of our breed.



Special Breed Morphology (halter) and ridden classes are held at AWC for these horses. In hand and under saddle classes de- termine the Champions of these classes. There are classes for all ages, both in hand and under saddle.

Lusitano Classes


Working Equitation



The discipline of Working Equitation (WE) was created with the objective of enhancing the equestrian techniques developed in countries whose riders use horses in different aspects of ranch

and fieldwork. The aim is not only to preserve and perpetuate each country’s type of equitation, but also their various traditions, the dress, and tack comprising each nation’s unique cultural equestrian heritage. Working Equitation, therefore, provides an opportunity for the simultaneous comparison of sporting and cultural considerations.

Working Equitation was pioneered by four countries: Portugal, Spain, France
and Italy, with the first International competition being held in 1996. In 2004, the World Association for Working Equitation (WAWE) was established to govern the sport. Since that time, the sport has continued to grow and is now well established in Europe and is gaining popularity in the Americas. WAWE rules are used for
all international competitions, but each individual country has its own rules for domestic competitions.


There are four trials, or tests, that make up a Working Equitation competition.
The first three, Dressage, Ease of Handling, and Speed, are required for both individual and team competitions. The fourth trial, Cattle Handling, is included for team competitions. It is mandatory at national championship competitions and encouraged at all other competitions when facilities allow. Each of the trials are described in greater detail in the sections that describe them


Supreme Championship

These classes represent the “Best of the Best”, with horses from all registries vying for the coveted “Andalusian World Cup”, rose blankets and prize money. There are only eight

of these very special classes offered, which take place on the last day and evening
of competition. There are two in-hand classes; Halter and Best Movement, and six performance classes; Show Hack, Dressage Suitability, Dressage Hack, Driving, Huntseat, Western Pleasure. In addition to roses and a trophy, the Western Pleasure Supreme Champion is awarded a Silver Western Saddle, made by Dale Chavez. Horses qualify for these classes by being previous Champions, or qualifying for the Championships at the AWC show.

Supreme Championship